SWW: Episode IV – A New Hope (1977)

Oh man, I got nostalgic just typing that title…

giphy

Let me try to hold it together here and explain why I’m so excited about this movie and why it is the classic it is today.

giphy (5)
Just relax, Luke. I’ll get through it.

To modern standards, the first Star Wars film would appear to be a run-of-the-mill science fiction movie, with a predictable plot and sub-par special effects…

giphy (8)
At least until George updated the films, and that wasn’t perfect…

But that’s because modern standards for science fiction films were set by this film, as well as changing the entire film industry.

giphy (11)
And you thought I was gonna shit on Star Wars…

The story of A New Hope, and I can’t believe I’m actually about to explain the plot to fucking Star Wars…, follows Luke Skywalker, played by Mark Hamill, a young orphan living on a dessert planet who yearns for more in his life.

giphy (9).gif
Whole lot of yearning going on right here…

Luke’s yearnings are answered when his uncle purchases two droids carrying a very important message…

giphy (18)
I can’t find a good gif of them being purchased, sue me.
giphy (6)
And I’m 99% sure she isn’t saying this here…

In an attempt to deliver the message, Luke goes out in search of Old Ben Kenobi, in hopes that he may have some connection to Obi Wan Kenobi…

giphy (7)
You picked a great alias Obi Wan…

Now I could write out the scene of Old Ben Kenobi revealing himself as the Jedi Knight, Obi Wan Kenobi. And I could write out the scene of him explaining Luke’s past and his connection to the force…but I’d rather show you this clip because it’s amazing and the creator deserves more credit.

Obi Wan and Luke set off on their journey to save Princess Leia. Oh yeah, that’s the girl from the hologram…

giphy (4)
My apologies, Miss Fischer. You will get a touching tribute later.

Recruiting the space pirate Han Solo, played by Harrison Ford, to pilot his Millenium Falcon,

giphy (3)
Elon Musk, when you create lightspeed, I will be the first to test it.

The group find themselves in the middle of a rebellion against the evil Galactic Empire.

giphy (29)
That’s not very evil…

Let me try that again…I said EVIL GALACTIC EMPIRE.

giphy (4)
Much better.

Now I’m not gonna try to spoil the movie for those who haven’t seen it…

giphy (1)
Oops…

But I kind of have to since there are six other movies in this franchise alone and I need to move on to them…

giphy (2)
They win.
Leave a Reply

