My Thoughts on the X-Men Franchise

If it is not clear yet, I love me some superhero movies

Let Me Explain: MCU
I might go watch this on Netflix tonight just after seeing this gif…

But one franchise I don’t tend to talk about that much is X-Men.

giphy-3
But I’m making some today!

Now the reason I avoid this franchise may be because they are currently owned by 20th Century Fox, and I am not a fan on how they have handled some of their past franchises…FANTASTIC FOUR…

giphy-30
The four in their name isn’t how many chances you get to not fuck it up.

And let’s face it, it’s not like the X-Men franchise hasn’t had its fair share of missteps…

giphy (31).gif
Fun fact; that actor was in She’s the Man and Eurotrip

But before any of the movies came out, I was a fan of the X-Men from the animated series on FOX Kids with a theme song that that gets your more riled up than a 5 Hour Energy.

Overall, the first three X-Men movies (2000, 2003, 2006) were ok…with X-Men: Last Stand (2003) really bringing down the overall average there…

giphy-7
Oh don’t worry, that was me being nice…

Those movies gave us three perfect adaptations of comic book characters with Patrick Stewart as Charles Xavier/Professor X, Sir Ian McKellen as Erik Lehnsher/Magneto, and Hugh Jackman as Logan/ Wolverine.

giphy-9
It was very confusing that you were both a hero and a villain when I was a kid…I guess that’s acting, kudos Sir…

Yet the disappointing nature of the third installment wouldn’t prove to be a fluke, but rather a brutal and rapid decline in quality resulting in a movie that I don’t want to, but I have to talk about… X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009)…

giphy-16
I have to talk about it…
giphy-4
No, Hugh. Come back. Where are your clothes?!?
giphy-5
Hey Hugh, buddy. Wanna come out? Put on some clothes? I swear it gets better…

Honestly, this movie is pure trash. Everything about it. Wolverine’s claws look fake, Will.I.Am is in it, and don’t even get me start on what they did to Deadpool…

giphy-18
Yeah…that “thing” is Deadpool…thank you so much Ryan Reynolds for fixing this…

After this movie in 2010, I pretty much lost hope for the X-Men franchise, instead focusing on the blossoming Avengers franchise and the long awaited The Dark Knight Rises…and we know how that turned out for me

Popular Movies That Suck: The Dark Knight Rises
It’s called self promotion…look it up.

So when X-Men: First Class (2011) was announced, I was skeptical. While I was a big fan of Jennifer Lawrence at the time (my opinion has changed tremendously since then…), I was still aware of the previous X-Men installment and was prepared for the worst…

giphy-11
Not your fault Hugh, the writers of your movie were high on paint fumes…

So when I finally decided to watch First Class on HBO months after it came out in theaters (told you, not super stoked on it…), I was pleasantly surprised.

giphy-20
Ok…some of it was good…

Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy are both incredible as Magneto and Professor X, bringing the same amount of pose and respect that McKellen and Stewart brought to the same roles.

giphy-23

giphy-19

This movie renewed my interest in the X-Men franchise by not only bringing in fresh, talented actors, but by beginning a new plot line separate from from any prior movies.

giphy-22
But once again, it wasn’t perfect…

The next installment in the franchise was an underrated gem, The Wolverine (2013).

giphy-15
Ninjas. Fucking Ninjas. Yet still, no one saw this movie…

The Wolverine shows that Hugh Jackman doesn’t need any other X-Men to make a great movie. Without getting into too much plot detail, this movie proved that a key element to the success of an X-Men movie is Jackman.

giphy-12
Honestly, if you haven’t seen this movie, do so now.

So when X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014) came out, I did something I hadn’t done since 2006. I went to see it in theaters…

giphy-6

To be honest, I thought it was only alright…there were definitely some things I enjoyed,

giphy-24

giphy-25
Seeing the Sentinels done right made me very happy…

But everything else pales in comparison to this scene.

In a power move during a rights battle with Marvel Studios and Disney, FOX used their property and character, Quicksilver, to make a scene that would out shine his appearance in Avengers: Age of Ultron the next year.

giphy
From; FOX. To; Disney.

And don’t get me started on how much I enjoyed 2016’s Deadpool….

giphy (32).gif
I also made this…so many walls broken…

But for some reason when they announced X-Men: Apocalypse (2016), I was skeptical…

source-2
This looks like it’s out of Dragon Ball…the horrible movie, not the amazing tv show…

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not nearly as bad as Last Stand or Origins, it was a tremendous step back in my opinion.

giphy-27
Sorta a step back in a lot of directions…

I don’t know where it went wrong; the cast is talented, with Sophie Turner, Oscar Isaac, and Tye Sheridan (he’s gonna be big) joining the cast; great source material, with the Age of Apocalypse story line being one of the most successful in the X-Men comic book franchise; and the same director of the previous installments returning, the movie had all the right ingredients for success.

source-1
And that’s pretty much all this movie had going for it…

But I think Fox has finally learned, not how to make a good Fantastic Four movie…, but how to make a good, mature superhero movie with Logan, coming out tomorrow! (What? No way? It’s almost like I did this post on purpose…)

This will mark the last film for both Jackman and Stewart to appear in their respective roles. The film will be rated R, like Deadpool, only this rating isn’t for sex jokes and curse words, but for intense gore and violence.

giphy-29
You’ve done five movies with a man who has knives on his hands and you finally realized it would probably be gory…

The mantel of Wolverine will be assume by the young girl from the trailer. From what I’ve seen, the character is in good hands.

giphy-28

Now this post doesn’t even begin to cover X-Men TV…that comes later…

giphy-2

Leave a Reply

