Master of None (2015-)

If you haven’t already seen this show, the entire first season is on Netflix right now and you can finish it in a day…you have no excuse.

giphy

Now on to Master of None,

giphy-40
Wrong show, right actor, I hope you’re confused.

Written and created by Aziz Ansari, Master of None is a comedic portrayal of Ansari’s life as he plays the struggling actor Dev Shah.

giphy-10
If we are using this logic, than it is perfectly acceptable for Michael Cera to play Shaft 

Ansari has written an incredible portrayal of modern life in America, not only for a Millennial like myself,

giphy-11
I connect with this on a deep spiritual level.

giphy-3

giphy-24
I honesty don’t know what it is about our generation and Cummbersnatch…

But also the struggles of being a person of color in our society,

giphy-12

giphy-16

giphy-9

giphy-14

But honestly, who am I to talk about the struggles of being a minority in this country? I’m a straight, white guy…pretty much all I can do is apologize…

giphy-27

giphy-28

giphy-29
Umm…you’re welcome…?

But white guilt aside, I love Masters of None. Aziz Ansari is hilarious while remaining very honest about his perception of the world around him.

giphy-25

giphy-26

giphy-5
If I’m not done playing with it, don’t even ask…

Many only know Ansari from his time on Parks and Recreation or his multiple stand-up specials on Netflix and HBO, and are rebuffed by his loud, narcissistic persona he has created.

giphy-13

If you are one of these people, I highly recommend you put aside and preconceptions you have of Ansari and give Master of None a try.

giphy-18

While there are fun, goofy parts of the show that highlight the humor that has helped Ansari create a career, it also deals with much larger, controversial issues that a happier show like Parks and Rec would never broach.

giphy-20

giphy-21

giphy-22
I understand this may seem a bit insensitive after the last image, but it’s an important issue…

Donald Glover compared it to his show Atlanta, adding that, “I’m not an optimistic guy. I feel like you watch Master of None and it’s a very optimistic look at millennialism, [but] I’m pessimistic about it. I feel like we kind of fucked up.”(source)

messages

And while Glover is right, this show is undoubtedly more optimistic than Atlanta,

giphy-2

That does not take away from the honest portrayal of like for a Millennial trying to get their life together.

giphy-1

 

 

Leave a Reply

