Flashback Friday: Young Frankenstein (1974)

I’m bringing back Flashback Fridays!

giphy-10
I’m aware most of you don’t like it, but I do…

For these posts, I am going to avoid any movies that were made in the year 2000 or after. (Yes, I’m aware that to some of y’all the 90’s aren’t a flashback but they are for me and this is my blog….)

giphy-6
“I’ve heard that Titanic movie is big these days. Ugh Leo, amiright??”

But now I need to change gears completely and address the elephant in the room with this post…

giphy

Gene Wilder was one of the most incredibly gifted comedic actors of all time. His death was a tragedy and he will be missed. Thank you for making generations of audiences smile.

giphy.gif

But this post isn’t about Willy Wonka, although that would make a great post one day…No this post is about the comedy genius that is Mel Brooks.

giphy-17

Before I go onto Young Frankenstein, I highly recommend you watch Blazing Saddles, also written and directed by Mel Brooks.

giphy-18

On to the topic at hand, Young Frankenstein is a parody on the classic Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. Following the grandson of Victor Frankenstein, Frederick Frankenstein.

giphy-9
To be fair…that isn’t how I pronounced it when I wrote it…

Frederick is a brilliant and talented neurosurgeon, ashamed of his family name and the stigma his grandfather created.

giphy-8

giphy-6

giphy-7

giphy-14
Well…sorta brilliant…I got the family shame thing right…

Despite his distain for his grandfather and his practices, Frederick becomes the sole inheritor of his grandfather’s home, work, and…colleagues….

giphy-15
“Soitenly. You take the blonde, I’ll take the one in the toiben.”

Igor, played by Marty Feldman, is the Frankenstein family assistant. While in the old story, Igor was an idiotic, buffoon; Feldman brings an incredible comedic element to the character.

YouTube just not coming through with the quality videos today…

source

If you can’t tell by now, I really enjoy witty comedies. Sharp dialogue and sarcasm could be the title of my biography…

giphy-21
Robin Hood: Men in Tights, also Mel Brooks

And while all of Mel Brooks’s comedies are witty and usually very meta…. (Self-referential)

giphy-19

Young Frankenstein, in my opinion, is Mel Brooks’s greatest work.

giphy-16

giphy-11

Almost every line in this movie has some sort of comedic element to it, with some being subtle and others…

giphy-12
I don’t care if it’s an obvious joke, it’s a great one.

I know what some of you are thinking, “But Mac, it’s a horror story. How can it possibly be funny??” Well you skeptical dick, watch this video and you tell me.

No fart jokes, no one once talked about sex, and no one said a cuss word; just good, old fashion physical comedy.

giphy-1
A bit preachy…I apologize…

And while the physical comedy in this movie is superb, the writing is what makes this movie great.

giphy-10

giphy-13

Honestly, this movie may not be for everyone. Some of you may not like it because it’s in black and white, or you don’t get the humor, or maybe you’re the weird one and need to et it together.

giphy-5

Leave a Reply

