Atlanta (2016-)

mv5bmtuymjq0nzm2nl5bml5banbnxkftztgwmjm1nju0ote-_v1_sy1000_cr006661000_al_

If you have read any of my old blog posts, you won’t be surprised by the fact that I’m a big Donald Glover fan…

86f13-giphy2b2528162529

So when FX announced his new show Atlanta, I was excited to say the least…

Atlanta follows college dropout Earnest ‘Earn’ Marks as he attempts to manage the career of his cousin and up-incoming rapper, Paper Boi.

source

And while I may not quiet match the target demographic of this show…

giphy-46

I still think the writing and acting in the show is incredible and it may be one of the funniest shows on tv at the moment…(HBO and Netflix don’t count…)

giphy-45
Snitches get stitches mop lady.

The show is a very honest perspective on the life of an African American man struggling to make ends meet….I think…I’m a white guy, the fuck do I know?

source-1

source-2
I relate with some things more than others…

And while the character in the show help drive the plot, it is Glover’s writing that shines in this series. The best example of this can be seen in the episode “B.A.N.”, a spoof on modern news and channel segmentation.

giphy-47

giphy-44

If I could compare this show to anything, I would likely compare it to the character driven stories of Seinfeld crossed with the irreverence of the Chappelle Show. (No, that’s not just because he’s black…racist.)

giphy-48

I recommend watching all of it today…and then being disappointed that you have to wait until 2018 for season 2…but Donald Glover is playing Lando…so we got that going for us.

giphy-42

Leave a Reply

